Life Ain’t Always Beautiful

This week has been one of many breakthroughs and aha! moments for me. I’ve had a sense of relief to finally completely let go of an old skin that never quite fit me and thought I had shed long ago. I’ve also been mourning the loss of something I never had and now fully understand that I never will. Life has been bittersweet of late.

Music has always been an intrinsic part of my life. I’ve always been able to find a song at any given point in my life that fits the situation perfectly. I haven’t been able to listen to anything melancholy while coping with my depression, but I had the urge to pop in an old CD I burned several years ago into my car stereo. When this song came on I knew I needed to hear it again with the new perspective I had gained so recently. The words of the chorus hit home, and that’s when I truly knew that I would be okay. I still have work to do, but I no longer carry the burden that weighed me down for so long. I know that I’ll be fine.

PS–What music has influenced your life? If you could create a soundtrack to your life, what songs would you choose? Please comment below. I’d love to know what music moves you.

Leave a Reply

